How do I love thee?

Let me count the ways
I love thee to change your fentanyl patch every 3 days
Zofran, Dilauded, chlorpromazine
For the ends of Ferrous sulfate, thorazine,
I love thee to the new pills of everydays
Most quiet need, by bathing you and using a syringe
I love thee freely, as you use Lasix to pee
I love thee purely, as the stool softeners work surely
I love thee with the prescriptions put to use
In your new briefs, and yet another pill
I love thee even with your mind you seem to sometime lose
With all my lost sleep. I love thee still,
Smiles, tears, of all my life; and even with with questions unanswered
I shall but hope we will win this awful fight with cancer
Ode to Poet’s Day which was yesterday and I couldn’t post because John had to go back to the hospital to get hydrated and get ready for a new PICC line.
Leave a Reply

