Big Yellow Taxi

The first three times I got into the car right after John passed away, the song Big Yellow Taxi by the Counting Crows would be playing on the radio. The first time, I didn’t think anything of it and I changed the station. The second time, I thought it was weird but changed it again and the third time, I listened to it. This is not a song John liked or associated with at all, but I said “OK John, what are you trying to tell me?” and just then Adam Duritz sang “You don’t know what you got til it’s gone”. Wow. Just wow. A few nights later, out of curiosity I watched the video. I was stunned. The first shot was of Manhattan’s Chinatown which I would go to a lot when we lived in New York. The rest was of New York too and about the past and times gone by. People with relationship regrets. I understood. Now it’s my favorite song and I watch the video almost every night. I know John would laugh at me.
This morning, Words of Love by the Beatles came into my head as I woke up. Whenever John would pick up the guitar, he would play that and we would sing it together. I thought we sounded great together singing it. I listened to this all day today.
I don’t look for signs of John but he comes, I welcome him.
One thought on “Big Yellow Taxi”

  1. I love that John comes through so loud and clear. And I love that you’re so open to it. In years to come, I’m looking forward to hearing how he comes to the girls. In their dreams? Over the radio? A face in a crowd, or a voice waking then from their sleep?
    You’re a blessed woman Laura. I know it’s hard to see now, but you are.
    Much love and peace to you.
    Mo.

    Like

Leave a Reply

