Lavender’s Blue

When will I learn that doing ordinary things means I have to research it thoroughly beforehand? When will I learn a simple trip to the movies means I have to investigate every detail to prepare myself and the girls and decide if we can handle it emotionally?

We went to go see Cinderella today. All three of us have been waiting to see it. The song “Lavender’s Blue” was the main song of the movie. We all held our breath at first and looked at eachother.

We have three toddler CDs and there are so many songs. We listened to them for three years straight. John kept the CDs to teach some of the songs for his classes. “Lavender’s Blue” was one of several we would sing along to together. Loudly.

When the prince and Cinderella dance at the ball, the song was playing again and we all cried. It brought us to a place we can never go back to and a memory all of us put in the back of our minds, but weren’t ready to remember just yet. We have never been in the same moment with our grief and for a minute, I didn’t know how to push mine away to comfort them…because I needed comfort too. We just held each other in the dark, searching for the warmth of John’s touch-only it never came.

There was a very great scene with the prince and the king. A real father/son moment before the king dies in his son’s arms. This made Izzy freak out.  I told her that the king died with the knowledge that his child loved him. There is no better way to die. He died like Dada did.

Nothing like a grieving family in a movie theater.

Lavender’s blue, dilly, dilly, lavender’s green,

When I am king, dilly, dilly, you shall be queen.

Who told you so, dilly, dilly, who told you so?

‘Twas my own heart, dilly, dilly, that told me so.

Call up your men, dilly, dilly, set them to work
Some to the plough, dilly, dilly, some to the fork,
Some to make hay, dilly, dilly, some to cut corn,
While you and I, dilly, dilly, keep ourselves warm.
Lavender’s green, dilly, dilly, Lavender’s blue,
If you love me, dilly, dilly, I will love you.
Let the birds sing, dilly, dilly, And the lambs play;
We shall be safe, dilly, dilly, out of harm’s way.
I love to dance, dilly, dilly, I love to sing;
When I am queen, dilly, dilly, You’ll be my king.
Who told me so, dilly, dilly, Who told me so?
I told myself, dilly, dilly, I told me so.
Leave a Reply

